If you have suffered a personal injury in a car accident as a passenger, then you have the right to seek compensation. When you’ve been injured through no fault of your own, you have the right to claim for pain and suffering, medical bills, and even lost wages. However, it’s important to know the full details of your options for seeking compensation, and it’s important to fully understand the facts of your case.
Whether you experienced the auto accident in Arvada, or in Colorado at large, it’s important to make sure you seek the advice of qualified and experienced car accident attorneys. This is vital for ensuring that you are clear on your rights, and what it is that you’re entitled to.
It’s important to remember that when claiming compensation for a car accident that was not your fault, you are entitled to compensation from a car accident insurance policy, and should not be expected to suffer from what is not your fault.
The Driver of Another Vehicle Caused the Car Accident
If you are riding as the passenger in a car when the driver of another vehicle causes an auto accident through their negligence, you have the rights to follow up for compensation from that driver. This can be for any number of reasons, including if the other driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or distracted by talking on a cellphone or not paying attention to the road.
Typically, you would file a claim that seeks recovery of funds from the driver’s insurance coverage. Colorado requires drivers to have a minimum level of liability coverage in case of a car accident, and if the driver has the required coverage, you should be covered up to the policy’s limit.
Colorado State Law & Insurance
Colorado is a “fault” car accident state, so that means that the person who caused the car accident is liable for any injuries sustained related to the accident. So, this means that the first step to claiming for your injuries is deciding who was at fault for the accident.
The minimum amounts of car insurance in Colorado are as follows:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury in an accident caused by the insured driver
- $50,000 per occurrence for all injured people in an accident caused by the insured driver
- $15,000 for property damage per accident caused by the insured driver
Filing a Passenger Injury Claim
If you are involved in a car accident as a passenger, it’s important to make sure that you think as quickly as possible. A passenger personal injury claim is dealt with in a similar manner to any other kind of car accident claim.
At the time of the accident, try to get the following information to make your claims processing easier later on.
You want to make sure you have these details for every driver involved in the accident.
- Contact information
- Insurance company
- Insurance policy number
- Description of vehicle
At this point, you may want to reach out to AGG Law Firm an experienced car accident lawyer to help guide you through the rest of the claims process.
Contact an Experienced Arvada Auto Accident Attorney
While you have plenty of rights as a passenger who was involved or experienced personal injury in a car accident, it’s important to consult an expert to make sure you can get adequate compensation for your losses.
To find out more about your options and rights from an experienced and compassionate personal injury lawyer, contact AGG Law Firm today. We can talk you through your rights and entitlements in a friendly and compassionate way, making sure that you get what you’re entitled to.