Car Accident With An Uninsured Driver
Car accidents are an inconvenient inevitable part of life, which is why Colorado requires drivers to carry car insurance. But with so many drivers on the road, it’s likely that you will eventually come across someone who isn’t following these laws. In the United States alone, 12% of drivers are uninsured.
In Colorado, it’s state law for drivers to have insurance coverage on their car. In fact, since 1997, the state has kept a current database on everyone who has active insurance on their car. Liability insurance is required under state law for motor vehicles with these minimum amounts:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
When you’ve been involved in an accident, car insurance offers some sort of peace of mind. Either your policy or the other driver’s policy will cover some of your medical and/or damage expenses. But what happens when the other driver doesn’t have car insurance? What are your rights then?
Accidents with uninsured motorists can get very complicated very quickly. You may face a situation where you’re responsible for all of your medical bills yourself. Protect yourself with these four tips:
- Call The Police
After a significant accident in Aurora, you should call the police- but especially if an uninsured driver is involved. The police will ensure that both parties receive adequate medical attention and they will also begin the documentation process. Later on, having a police report will help document and legitimize your claims if you decide to pursue legal action on your injuries.
2.) Exchange Contact Information
Get the other driver’s name, address, and phone number. Ask the other driver to copy the information from their driver’s license so you know everything is accurate. Take photos of the accident before you leave the scene. This includes pictures of skid marks, the location of the car accident and any damage to your vehicle is helpful later on. Don’t forget to get
3.) Contact Your Insurance Company
Once you have a police report and the other driver’s contact information, it’s absolutely crucial to touch base with your insurance company. If it’s the uninsured driver who is at fault, contacting the insurance company won’t raise your rates. Your agent will be able to help advise you through the process and check to see if your policy has uninsured driver coverage.
4.) Contact A Lawyer
If you’ve sustained injuries due to a car accident with an uninsured motorist in Aurora, your insurance may help with some of the costs associated with your recovery or you could be left on your own- responsible for paying for all medical bills yourself. If you find yourself facing this reality, it’s in your best interest to reach out to a car accident attorney. Claims involving an uninsured motorist are difficult to navigate, but our team at AGG Law are experienced car accident attorneys in Aurora and will help you get the justice you deserve.